top of page
Search
Will Beers

Champagne Creme Brûlée

Servings: 4

Total Time: 2 Hours 55 Minutes


Ingredients:


6 Egg Yolks

1 Cup Whipping Cream

1/2 Cup Sugar

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

2 Tablespoons Champagne

1 Teaspoon Champagne (divided, to caramelize)

4 Tablespoons Sugar (divided, to caramelize)


Instructions:


  1. Preheat the main oven to 300 degrees F.

  2. In a bowl, whisk the eggs yolks with the cream, sugar, vanilla extract and Champagne.

  3. Pour the mixture into 4 ramekins and place in a large-size baking pan. Fill the pan with boiling water to cover halfway up the sides of the ramekins.

  4. Transfer the pan to the oven and bake for about 40 minutes. The custards should be totally set, but still have a slight jiggle in the middle.

  5. Remove the pan from the oven and set aside to allow the custards to cool before transferring to the fridge for 2-8hours

  6. Remove from the fridge and top each ramekin with 1/4 of a Teaspoon of Champagne followed by 1 Tablespoon of sugar.

  7. Set the oven broiler to high heat and broil the Creme Brûlée for between 4-5 minutes, rotating in the oven halfway through, until the tops caramelize.

  8. Serve and enjoy!



Thanks to The Creme Brûlée Cookbook by, Christina Tosch, I was able to create this beautiful Champagne Creme Brûlée for my family on New Years Eve. It was the perfect way to bring in the new year. I changed up the recipe a bit, it took longer for me to bake, and I kept it in the fridge for longer but it turned out great. I also used my kitchen torch instead of caramelizing the sugar in the broiler. One large mistake I made when making this Creme Brûlée is how much Champagne I used on top for the caramelizing. I accedentally added too much to the Creme Brûlée and the layer of caramel on top was a bit soggy, and it took longer to caramelize.

44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Yorum


jbeers_54
04 Oca 2021

Wow! This was delicious!

Beğen
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page