top of page
Search
Will Beers

Apple Pie

I got this recipe from my Dad’s girlfriend. She told me that she had written it down when she was in high school, and she has been using it ever since. I have had this pie when she has made it in the past but I have never made it on my own. I thought that for my Mom’s husbands birthday I would make him this pie. He loves apple pie and he loves everything I bake. Unfortunately right after I had baked the pie he had gotten sick, not COVID, but he wasn’t feeling well enough to be eating pie. Me and my Mom where trying to save it for as long as possible so that we could all have it together, but he was sick for longer. Finally we decided to dig in. It was delicious!


There are two different ways to make this pie recipe. One version is the pie crust on the bottom and crumble on the top. The other is pie crust on the top and bottom. The way I did it was crust on the top and crust on the bottom. You can do either, they are both great.





Pie Crust (Single Crust):

1 1/2 Cup Sifted Flour

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

1/2 Cup Shortening

4 to 5 Tablespoons Cold Water


Apple Crumble Pie:

1 Cup Sugar

2 Tablespoons Flour

1 Teaspoon Lemon Zest

6 Cups Thinly Sliced Cooking Apples

3 Tablespoons Lemon Juice

Pastry For Single Crust Pie

1/2 Cup Flour

1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/4 Teaspoon Ground Ginger

1/8 Teaspoons Ground Mace

1/4 Cup Butter


Directions:

Combine 1/2 cup of the sugar, the 2 tablespoons of flour, and the lemon zest. Sprinkle apple slices with lemon juice; add sugar mixture and toss to coat. Fill a pastry lined 9-inch pie pan with apple mixture. Combine remaining 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger, and 1/8 teaspoon ground mace. Cut in the 1/4 cup of Butter until crumbly; sprinkle mixture atop the apples, cover edge of pie with foil. Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes remove foil and bake for another 30 minutes until topping is golden. Serve warm.




Either way you make this pie you won‘t be sorry. It is one of the best pies I’ve ever made. You will also have a lot of fun making this with family members or friends of just by yourself. I hope you find joy in making this pie just like I did.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page